Our Governors

Seymour Primary Academy Local Governing Body – Overview

Seymour Primary Academy is an academy as part of The Kemnal Academies Trust (TKAT).

TKAT is a multi-academy trust which was established on 1st September 2010. Its constitution is set out in the Articles of Association and this is shared with individual
academies via the Scheme of Delegation. TKAT have, through the Scheme of Delegation, established Local Governing Bodies for each of the Academies.

To read the Scheme of Delegation please click this link: TKAT Scheme of Delegation 2021 – (App 2 updated Aug 23).

The Local Governing Body of each of the Academies is responsible for fulfilling the strategic and operational governance role in the conduct of the Academy.

Please click here to link to the Directors of the TKAT Board.

Please click here to link to Governance information relating to TKAT, including the structure of governance and relevant details about Trustees terms of office, attendance and business

Please click here for key documents including the Master Funding Agreement, Articles of Association and Accounts.


Seymour Primary School Local Governing Body (LGB) Membership

We currently have 9 governors:

  • 2 Co Headteachers
  • 1 Staff governors – 1 vacancy
  • 3 parent governors
  • 3 appointed governors

Chair of Governors: Simon Mitchell
Vice-Chair of Governors: Greer Williams ( Co-Opted Governor)
Link to Constitution document

1 The names of the Academy governed by this Local Governing Body is Seymour Primary School.
2 The name of the Local Governing Body (LGB) is The Local Governing Body of Seymour primary School.
3 The Local Governing Body shall be constituted of up to 11 Governors

Class of Governor Number
Headteacher (ex-officio) 02
Staff 02
Parents 03
Appointed 04
Total 11

4 The Term of Office for each class of Governor shall be in accordance with the Scheme of Delegation of the LGB as granted by the Directors of The Kemnal Academies Trust.
5 This Constitution is made by The Kemnal Academies Trust and The Local Governing Body of Seymour Primary School

On behalf of TKAT
Karen Roberts
On behalf of the LGB
Simon Mitchell
Chair of Governors

Please click here to read the Governors Impact Statement for 2022/23; ur Governor Impact Statement 2023-24.docx (1)


Governor NameTypeStart DateTerm of OfficeDeclarations of Interest 2021/22Declarations of Interest 2022/23Declarations of Interest 2023/24Area of ResponsibilityAttendance 2022/23
Emma EardleyHead of School01.09.2020Ex OfficioNone 2021/22None 2022/23None 2023/2485%
Carol CollinsHead of School01.09.2020Ex Officio18.2.22 sister is supply teacherSister is casual supply teacher 1.11.22None 2023/2471%
Cheryl PrestonStaff Governor23.01.201823.1.22 to 22.1.26None 2021/22None 2022/23None 2023/24Curriculum and Standards71%
Greer WilliamsCo-Opt Governor21.09.202121.09.21-20.09.2025None 2021/22None 2022/23None 2023/24Curriculm & Standards 100%
Simon MitchellCo-Opt Governor21.09.202121.09.2021-20.09.2025None 2021/22None 2022/23Spouse employed by TKATSafeguarding and Business & Finance85%
Rajesh NayiParent Governor21.09.202121.09.2021-20.09.2025None 2021/22None 2022/23None 2023/24Staff wellbeing85%
Danny SeearCo-Opt27.09.202227.09.2022- 26.09.2026N/ANone 2022/23None 2023/24Health & Safety85%
Amy MurphyParent Governor25.01.202425.01.24-24.01.28N/AN/ANoneNoneN/A
Vanesa GomezParent Governor25.01.2425.01.24-24.01.28N/AN/ANoneNoneN/A
Caroline HaywardSupport Staff Governor21.09.201622.9.20-08.03.2310.2.22 her husband is roofing contractorNone 2022/23Ace project100%
Alysha MitchellParent Governor12.3.1912.3.2019 to 26..09.2023None 2021/22None 2022/23Ace Project85%

Seymour Primary School are part of TKAT (The Kemnal Academies Trust). You can find out more about TKAT by visiting www.tkat.org and you can follow them on Twitter @TKATAcademies.